Just 1 Day..

Mr. was out-of-town for the day and I can’t get past the fact that I loved every moment I had to myself.  This isn’t the first time I’ve been alone in China since we moved, but it surely is the first time I’ve been thrilled to see him travel.  I thought I would miss him and get a bit lonely since he is my only friend here but having the house to myself, not one inch of mess around the place and time to do whatever I want was just what I needed.

My first guilty pleasure was waking up and being able to stretch out all across the bed without hearing “I’m hungry” or “make me coffee”.  After a long leisurely breakfast while catching up on some online reading I made it to the gym for a glorious 9km run (which I had to miss the day before!).  It was so relaxing not worrying I have to rush to get back to make dinner or go somewhere that I even fit in a 1km cool down, which I never get to do.  I just loved walking back from the gym without worrying if I’ll find dishes to clean in the sink, shoes to pick up or a bed to make.  I could not ask for a more blissful morning.  I started to get reminiscent of my single years in London especially the first year of university when I lived alone.  Coming back to a tidy home just the way I left – ahhh life’s simple pleasures!

I treated myself to a fun afternoon.  Stopped by at my favorite sushi restaurant to grab a quick bite.  Then I went to get my hair and nails done – somehow pampering myself always makes me feel so good.  By the time I got home it was the evening and I hadn’t even checked my phone once to see if Mr. F had messaged.  I must have really been enjoying the space! Once the evening quickly rolled round I got in to my pj’s snuggled up on the couch with a vodka soda, a yum dinner and chocolate ready to catch up with all the week’s new shows, undisturbed.  I sometimes forget just how much I enjoy my own company and not having to do anything or worry about anyone else.

When I woke up this morning I saw Mr. F had come back after I fell asleep.  I saw shoes under the coffee table, un-rinsed dishes in the sink and clothes thrown over the sofa.  Back to reality!  As much as I loved my day alone I am happy to have him back, but I need to start making ‘me days’ a mandatory event around here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

