Too Fat! To Thin! Everyone’s got an opinion.

I work hard at maintaining my figure and it annoys the hell out of me that people can say to me “you’re way to skinny” but it’s considered rude and nasty to tell someone “you’re too fat”. It drives me insane. I am a healthy BMI, it’s unheard of for me to ever skip a meal (breakfast is my only motivation to get out of bed!) and I workout to keep myself healthy. Yet, people always feel its acceptable to comment on my eating and working out habits.  It also frustrates me that because I am conscious eater people feel its ok to stereotype me:

“You’d never eat a french fry” – YESSS! I do eat french fries but I choose not to indulge on them regularly. There are no foods off-limits to me (except dairy, but that’s for a totally different reason) but I genuinely prefer eating fresh produce, nuts, whole grains, lean meats and green smoothies over burgers, fries, donuts and other processed foods.

“You must never eat pasta or rice, its carbs” – Carbs are NOT the enemy!!! Why do over weight people think carbs and healthy fats make you fat? Excess calories make you fat not a certain food group. I love all forms and varieties of carbs. FYI, I DO eat bread, cereal, potatoes, rice, quinoa, etc. There is no need to tell me “it’s ok to eat rice today and start dieting again from tomorrow”. I am not dieting and I eat carbs daily, not as a ‘treat’ and shock horror even at night!

It just baffles be why people can freely comment about a slim persons habits but its taboo to comment about an overweight persons habits.

Why is it okay for someone to say to me: You’re too skinny.

Yet, I could never say back to them: You’re too fat.

 

Why is it okay for someone to say to me: You don’t eat anything.

Yet, I could never say back to them: You eat too much.

Why is it okay for someone to say to me: Maybe if you gained weight, you’d have boobs.

Yet, I could never say back to them: Maybe if you lost weight, you’d have a waist.

Why is it okay for someone to say to me: You’re so slim your jeans are falling off of you.

Yet, I could never say back to them: You’re so fat your pants almost rip at the seams.

 

Why is it okay for someone to say to me: You’re so slim you shouldn’t exercise so much.

Yet, I could never say back to them: You’re so fat you should start exercising ASAP.

 

Maybe it’s time I start replying with these comments. It is really as inappropriate to call someone skinny, as it is call someone fat. The moral of the story is, if you would not say something to an overweight person, you shouldn’t think of saying the opposite to a slim person. Why should you ever be allowed an opinion on someone else’s body or way of life? You can think it in your head, but the minute you open your mouth it becomes very dangerous, that is of course unless you are opening your mouth to give a compliment, then by all means do this.  As long as people are happy with themselves there is no need to comment.  There is beauty behind each person and we do not have the right to make them feel any less of themselves!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Too Fat! To Thin! Everyone’s got an opinion.

  1. gayatri5

    Love this post. By no means am I skinny but I’m not fat either. So I am always at the receiving end of remarks like “eat more” and “go easy on the french fries” … Either way, I think people should just mind their own business.

  2. I think your post really hits home the point about thinking before speaking. We’re all people at the end of the day. If everyone would just do what’s best for them, mankind would be a lot healthier!

Leave a Reply

